Latest update: January 20, 2000
http://fy.chalmers.se/~kinaret/manybody.html

Many-Particle Physics


Many-Particle Physics: 5.0p, lp III and lp IV
Examinator: Dr. Jari Kinaret Department of Applied Physics

Latest information:




General information regarding the course

The course focuses on the techniques used in many-particle physics. We will cover the traditional condensed matter formalism using mostly Mahan's book, and we will even familiarize ourselves with the more modern path integral formalism using the book by Negele and Orland. Additional reference books are (i) Fetter and Walecka, (ii) Abrikosov, Gorkov, and Dzyaloshinski, (iii) Doniach and Sondheimer, and (iv) Nozières.

The course requires a fair amount of student involvement and preparation. In particular, I will lecture only every second (odd) week, and every second (even) week one of the participants will give a lecture on the topic of the week. The lecturer will be chosen randomly, and he or she will be notified 24h before the lecture. The intention is that this way we will all be well prepared and are more likely to digest the material more easily.

The course will also contain some homework problems, typically one problem per week. Since there is no course assistant assigned to the course, we will meet once every two weeks to discuss the home problems. Each problem will be presented by a randomly chosen participant.

Finally, some special topics will only be covered by student projects. The projects will be presented in a series of seminars at the end of the course.

The course has no traditional exam, instead, a passing grade requires a satisfactory participation in all the different aspects of the course.

Back to the top

Schedule

Lectures:
Problem sessions:
Project presentations: More detailed program is available
here as a PostScript file.

First lecture: Thursday, January 20, at 14.15 in F6217
Back to the top

Contact information

Lecturer:

Participants:

Dima Fedorets dima@fy.chalmers.se
Johan Carlsson johanc@fy.chalmers.se
Andreas Käck anka@fy.chalmers.se
Klas Engström klase@fy.chalmers.se
Andreas Isacsson isac@fy.chalmers.se
Sara Blom sara@fy.chalmers.se
Carlo Ruberto ruberto@fy.chalmers.se
Staffan Ovesson ovesson@fy.chalmers.se
Alex Kleiner alexkl@fy.chalmers.se
Anders Hellman andhe@fy.chalmers.se
Henrik Rydberg rydberg@fy.chalmers.se
Fredrik Olsson fredriko@fy.chalmers.se
Nicolas Lorente lorente@fy.chalmers.se
Tobias Ambjörnsson tfyta@fy.chalmers.se

Back to the top

Material

  • G.D. Mahan: Many-Particle Physics
  • J.W. Negele and H. Orland: Quantum Many-Particle Systems


  • Transparencies from lectures (use "Swap landscape" or rotate your monitor):
    Home problems that are not from Mahan or Negele and Orland: Back to the top